Cinnamon Raisin Bread

  1. Your girl doesn’t follow recipes well

  2. Your girl also doesn’t read recipes well sometimes

  3. Sassy Erica came out during this recipe and broke some rules

  4. Eleanor (my mixer) burned some serious calories this morning

  5. I always try the hardest thing to do, first. No training wheels. Balls to the wall.

20161230_071416

If you just want the recipe – scroll all the way down. But where is the fun in that?!

  1. I don’t follow recipes well. I am not sure how many people who are reading this have baked/cooked with me, but I do whatever I want with recipes. I feel that some recipes you DO want to follow word-for-word but others are a simple guiding light to help you in your baking voyage. This one was a guiding light. I read it two days before, scouring through different recipes, and came across this one. I usually read it for the ingredients used, the order in which you add the ingredients, and visitor’s comments. This one looked great. I didn’t read the comments. I will come back to this one later.
  1. I don’t read recipes well. This one instructs you to let the dough rise in the refrigerator overnight. Nope. It’s on my countertop next to the coffee pot for warmth during these cold winter months. It also told me to mix for 4 minutes for a stick dough. After 30 seconds the dough was sticky. I wasn’t going to overwork my gluten. Forget that. Then it said to knead the dough for 10 more minutes until it pulled away from the sides of the bowl. It pulled away after 10 seconds. Nope. THE KICKER: people in the comments were complaining that their dough was HARD and TOUGH and A BRICK. Duh. You. Overworked. Your. Gluten. Bye.

3. Sassy Erica. See above.

20161230_071428
Despite other issues, my yeast proofed nicely. Wahoo!
  1. Funny part, I am listening to GRiZ’s latest album, Good Will Prevail, and as soon as PF GFY came on, Eleanor was giving me sass and felt upset with me when I was trying to mix sugar into a solid dough. She was loudly whispering “PS GFY” to me. This was specifically with the sugar incident mentioned below.

Side note: I’m no pastry chef so I am not sure if this is a “thing” but wwwhhhyyy am I mixing butter into a solid dough already formed? This recipe had me do it and a caramel walnut babka recipe did from The Chew. The people on The Chew are my best friends (I honestly think Clinton Kelly and I could be good friends if he ever wants to give me a chance) so I have done that recipe twice. Twice without a stand mixer. Both times came out well, but twice I’ve used my hands to massage butter into dough because I didn’t want to burn out my electric hand mixer. Talk about dedication. I brought this up because I didn’t know why I had to mix sugar into already formed dough. I did it anyway. Literally I did it. I turned Eleanor off and kneaded the dough because she wasn’t having it (#4).

20161230_073846
Butter and sugar all mixed in!
  1. Balls to the walls. I was gifted a sewing machine when I was little. Broke it. Got another one and eventually broke it, too. But the first thing I wanted to make was a denim jacket. Not a skirt. Not something else that is easy. I was insistent on making a denim jacket. God bless my mother because she let me and we never finished. Apparently my parents never told me they lacked confidence in me. When I told them I was trying out for show choir in middle school they said “okay” but apparently they had no clue about my abilities and didn’t know if I would make it. I did, both years I auditioned. I also told them I wanted to try out for the school play. They let me. Behold, a former 7th grade star as the Scarecrow in The Wizard of Oz. So. I am making a “difficult” recipe of cinnamon raisin bread. Not knowing what the poop will happen. Alll up in this kitchen. All up.

20161230_074540

Shh. The bread is rising. Will check back in later. Probably with another cup of green tea.

– another cup of tea and avocado toast later –

20161230_094142

The bread looked great! Doubled well! I actually let it sit for 2 hours. I lost track of time.

Milk. Cinnamon. Sugar.

20161230_095002

Roll it. Pat it. Mark it with a B. That is my mom’s favorite childhood rhyme to do with kids. Hand motions and all. No, I didn’t measure the sides like the directions said.

20161230_095257
My brother wanted to show you how big it was in comparison to his hand.

I covered the bread around 20 minutes with foil and removed my bread at 40 minutes because I was afraid of having solid hard bread. As I cut into the bread about 30 minutes after removing it from the oven, it was still slightly undone. I put it back in the [toaster] oven to finish cooking. Not sure if you’re suppose to do this… I did it anyway.

20161230_112138

This is clearly not one of those blogs when people pretend their baking went off without a problem. I didn’t seal my last edge enough and this occurred. I thought I placed it on the bottom. It wasn’t a big deal. Only seeped a little! The bread was so soft an fluffy and full of cinnamon goodness. Baking success! Dust with powdered sugar if you like! It always make the bread look finished. (Note: do not put back in over with powdered sugar on top. The top burned a little. a lot. Whoops) 

20161230_115451

Let me know if you try the recipe and tell me how it came out! I hope it works for you!

I have included the recipe below. I only added one ingredient and I changed the directions. I added sugar to the yeast mixture. I was always told that the yeast needed to eat, too. I really didn’t even measure how much sugar I added, but I estimated it to be a teaspoon. I am sure you can do this with a hand mixer, but adding the butter would be difficult. See anecdote above from my past experiences. Stand mixer would be prime. Adapted from Food52.

20161230_123623

CINNAMON RAISIN BREAD

Bread Dough:
½ c water around 110 degrees F

½ c milk around 110 degrees F

1 T fast rise yeast (note: a packet is 2 ¼ t)

1 t sugar

4 ¼ c all-purpose flour

1 ½ t salt

2 eggs

¼ c white sugar

8 T unsalted butter, softened (I used salted)

1 ¼ c raisins

Filling:

5 T sugar

5 T cinnamon

approx. 1/4 c milk

Makes one loaf

  1. Combine water, milk, yeast, and 1 t sugar in stand mixer bowl. Sit until foamy (mine took about 5 minutes.
  2. Whisk flour and salt in a separate bowl until combined. Using the dough hook, slowly add the dry mixture to the yeast-mix on low speed. Stop to scrape as necessary until dry mix is fully combined.
  3. Add both eggs and mix gently to combine. Add sugar and mix until combined (this is when I had to knead it by hand. The mixer wasn’t working for me). Turn mixer on medium-low until dough is soft and sticky. Took mine about 1 minute. If too sticky, add a little flour.
  4. Add butter 2 T at a time while mixer is on low. When the previous T of butter is almost fully incorporated, add another one. Stop periodically to pull dough from hook to ensure butter is incorporated fully. Scrape sides if needed. Dough will be “soft and billowy.” Once all the butter is in, keep mixing until dough pulls from sides. Mine only took 1 minute.
  5. Add raisins and mix. Place dough on lightly floured surface and shape into a ball. Place into a large bowl, cover with plastic wrap (I always cover with a towel as well) and set in a warm place to rise until doubled in size.
  6. Mix sugar and cinnamon for filling in a bowl. Punch down dough and overturn on a lightly floured surface. Pat it into a rectangle then roll into a larger one approx. 8x18in. Short edge will need to be facing you.
  7. Brush the dough with the milk and sprinkle the cinnamon sugar mixture on top, leaving a ½ in border on the far edge. Start at the edge closest to you (it should be the short one!) and tightly roll into a loaf. Pinch the edges of the loaf so no filling escapes and is exposed. Transfer load into a prepared pan and let rise until it is about 1in over the edge of the pan. My pan size was 5.25 x 9 x 2.75.
  8. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake loaf until it is golden brown and cooked through. Approx 40-50 minutes or until internal temp is 200 degrees F.
2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Raisin Bread

Leave a Reply

