Eggs in Purgatory

Breakfast is for winners

Happy (day after) Puppy Bowl Sunday!

This recipe is not baking and it does not have beer. Sorry. This is a recipe that I have always wanted to try and I hope you enjoy it!

 

If you love salsa on your eggs, this recipe is for YOU!

 

This past week has been the busiest week of 2017. I spent M-F  working in the hospital and I had an engagement to attend every night. By grace alone I have made it to my last two weeks in the hospital! Hopefully my classroom education will continue to produce good fruit!

 

So. This is a quick recipe. Time for you to experiment with your cooking and get a feel for fun stuff!

This past Sunday I woke up at 5:30AM and could not get back to bed. I cuddled with my lizard and tried to watch Netflix but I still could not sleep.

I finally rolled out of bed, put my laundry in, and started to cook.

This recipe was in my Cooking for Two cookbook and asked for bacon (didn’t want to use), and a can of Ro-tel tomatoes (didn’t have it).

20170205_085526

I improvised with some Garden Fresh salsa. If you have never tried their salsa or tortilla chips, you need to! A great Michigan founded company! I tried to will myself to use some bacon grease that was drained from an earlier date but it grossed me out too much.

This recipe also is served with a side of cheddar cheese grits. SO GOOD.

Before I get too far, I feel like I need to give a new review on Vanilla Java Porter by Atwater Brewery. The last time I had it, I had a very thick beer earlier in the day so this beer flowed too easily for my palate at the time. I had more this weekend and it hit every spot that I did not know existed. It is a delicious porter and I would highly recommend it.

Good enough for you?

Ready to try your hand at being creative? I’ll put these pictures to help. Hopefully it works!

Eggs in Purgatory with Cheddar Cheese Grits

 20170205_091537

up to 1 T olive oil, butter, bacon grease, whatever.

1 part green pepper, diced

1 part onion, small, diced

1 clove of garlic, minced

½ Jalapeno (optional)

1 T tomato paste

10 oz of Tomato-something (canned tomatoes, salsa, fresh tomatoes but with some sort of sauce…)

¼ c water

4 Eggs

Salt & Pep

  1. In a 10 in skillet on medium high, heat your oil/grease of choice (I use butter) until hot. Add green pepper and onion and cook just until soft

20170205_084845

2. Add garlic, jalapeño (I didn’t have one), and tomato paste. Cook until fragrant (less than 1 minute)

20170205_085251

3. Put tomato-mix of your choice and water in the skillet and cook about 5-8 minutes until starting to get thick.

20170205_090319

4. Make 4 spots in the sauce for eggs. Crack and put each egg in their own hole. Add salt & pep. Reduce to medium low, cover and cook until eggs are done to your liking. About 5 minutes for a runny yolk.

20170205_090542

5. Cook quick grits according to package. Add cheddar cheese directly to the grits when finished cooking or top the grits with cheese when on your plate

6. Invite your friends over for a beautiful breakfast!

If you want to use bacon/sausage, cook it before and sautee onion and pepper in it. Top the finished product with the chopped meat.

Have a great week everyone! I know Valentine’s Day is basically a big consumer’s holiday, BUT GET EXCITED WAHOO! I will be cooking that day, per usual, so maybe there will be a special edition!

Leave a Reply

