Peanut Butter & Chocolate Ale Pie and Dip

NSFD: Not safe for dieting

Hi!

I don’t even know where to start! Back in the classroom and back to work. Exam this Thursday but it’s (only) Monday and I’m typing this in bed with the lights off. I took a jog today and continued sweating for 2 hours after. I ate potato chips for breakfast and frozen yogurt and cheese quesadilla for dinner. I paid my credit card bill. I’M an ADULT!

Update: Finishing this Wednesday. Watching Property Brothers. I’ll get to studying soon.

 

 

20170318_162244

This past weekend was the annual St. Patrick’s day celebration downtown. This year instead of going, I made this peanut butter and chocolate pie with PB & J’ALE’Y from Elk Brewing. Bought a whole growler, yes I did. A man was so interested in what I was planning on getting with my growler so we chatted briefly. He instructed me to get the Brewtus coffee porter. It was DELICIOUS. I highly recommend this when you go.

snapchat-728780868.jpg

On actual St. Patrick’s day, I went to Founder’s Brewing Co. because they had a firkin of Dirty Bastard with licorice root and coconut extract. It was DELICIOUS. They also still had KBS on tap. MAN IS THAT STUFF GOOD. I wanted to sit and smell it because it smells like delicious coffee.

 

I also stopped by the Craft Beer Cellar downtown. This place is AMAZING. You need to go if you have one in your town. I instantly fell in love with this place. I don’t know what I was expecting but my mouth dropped as soon as I walked in because of the variety of items they sold there. They also have beer on tap and a corking fee if you want to drink what you purchased there! Food is also available. “Small” place for such an awesome concept and welcoming environment. SO great!

 

Anyway. So. Here is what I did with the pie. If you are on a diet, just stop reading.

20170322_083645

I didn’t expect the chocolate on top to harden because it was made with beer and that would prevent it from becoming stiff. I guess that would prevent the peanut butter from getting hard, too. However, If you let it chill for a full 24 hours and serve it straight from the fridge, it stays “put together.”

20170318_164519

 

The pie was so much better after waiting 24 hours. I wasn’t blown away initially but I really enjoyed it later. The BEST part was the peanut butter filling! I had extra so I put it separately in a container and refrigerated it. I am unsure why, but I decided to eat it with animal crackers and graham crackers and this was BETTER than the whole pie itself.

 

SO! I will somehow put the two recipes below. ENJOY a PB & Chocolate Ale Pie or Boozy PB Dip!

 

20170318_185115

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Ale Pie

Adapted from this recipe.

 

Dip only ingredients:

1 c creamy peanut butter

1.5-2 c powdered sugar

1 stick softened butter

1 C PB & J’ALE’Y from Elk Brewing

Items for dipping (animal crackers, graham crackers, pretzels,…)

 

Making the whole pie? Combine list above with this list below:

1 package of oreos

1 stick of melted butter

16 oz of good chocolate

1/4 c heavy cream

1/2 c PB & J’ALE’Y from Elk Brewing

 

  1. Crush entire package of Oreos in food processor or in Ziploc with rolling pin (I did the latter method, then put in my food processor. I have a small Ninja and all of those cookies wouldn’t fit!)
20170318_160149
Using a rolling pin

20170318_161209After I used a food processor

  1. Melt and cool butter. Mix with crushed Oreos. Press into 10-12” inch pie pan. Freeze 10 minutes.
  2. Mix dip ingredients in bowl of stand mixer. Pour over pie crust and freeze for 15 minutes
  3. Put chocolate in glass bowl. Heat beer until luke warm. Pour over chocolate. Heat heavy cream until luke warm. Slowly whisk into beer and chocolate. I used a double boiler method (on medium low) to melt the chocolate. When fully melted, cool slightly and pour on pie. Refrigerate at least an hour

 

If you’re making jus the dip, just blend together. Serve with crackers, pretzels, or something of the like. I liked mine chilled.

 

So! Another example of how one “okay” recipe turned out pretty darn good!

 

20170318_154859

 

Leave a Reply

